Thursday, May 7, 2009

holy criminey

So I decided to start walking with my neighbor across the street. I call her "not Sue" since my normal walking partner is selfishly not uprooting her family to move by me so that I can have my walking/running friend back. The nerve. So anyway, that is going great. I have adult conversation that doesn't involve me typing (which is nice but man am I a great typist now).

Today though, I opted to run. On a day that I plan on running usually starts out like this.

I wake up an get all motivated put everything on except my shoes and bounce excitedly down the stairs. (Mom, are you picturing it?)

Then as the kids are getting ready for school I start cleaning and making a mental note of everything that needs to get done and can't wait any longer. Then I start to cross things off the list. You know the important things.

Put milk away so it doesn't spoil (check)
Put dishes in the sink (check)
Sweep the floor cause we don't want critters (check)
Clean the ceiling fans so we stop the family's allergies (check)
Scrub the toilets so they don't get water stained (check)
While in there I notice that there is mold in the grout....gotta get that out so we don't get spores floating in the house (check)

So do you see a pattern?

I love running but I have to be sneaky about it. I have to hurry up and get out the door before my mind realizes what I signed it up for.

Well after the grout is cleaned I talked with John. He said the words that he knew would get me out of the house besides "if you do, there will be a big chocolate cake on the counter when you get home" .....I mean he has used that one too many times. Nope my friends.....he said (and I am quoting here) "oh, you won't run today....I just know it"

What? Huh? Are you serious? Bring it on old man.....

So I just got back from a run and let me tell you. Arizona is a little on the warm side at 11am when it is already 94 out.....especially when the path I run is on the BLACK road with very little tree coverage.

From now on, the spores and mold are going to have to wait.

Especially since I really want to run PF Chang in Jan. I thought it was in Feb....so you see, I am already a month behind.

No comments: