John picked me up from work at 345 on Wednesday 10-07-09 (My dad's birthday). We drove up to Flagstaff and had dinner. My only point of reference for Flagstaff is where they either dropped Aunt Edna off or picked her up. I think Clark was dropping her off but my brother would know for sure.
Anyway, we had dinner and then when we got to the hotel, I went to my girlfriends room to meet all the other craz....um, hikers. There was 8 of us and 3 drivers. John being one of them. It was a ecletic group to say the least...all brought together to do a challenging thing the next day.
John and I went to our room and I tried to control what was going on in my stomach. It was a very "emptying" week to say the least. I think the body knows that there are only porta-potties and cactus to go on during the hike and it is helping a sister out. We go to bed about 9pm and I just lay there. John is watching South Park and I am trying not to listen. I know I drifted in and out but I woke up sensing that JOhn was awake too and I said "I am not sleeping"....his reply? Me neither. The question of would I make it out alive never really hit me until this moment. There are no safety railings or bungie ropes on the trail. Nope. Not a one.
The alarm went off at 355am. I didn't know that was possible...but it is. We hop out of bed and are ready and dressed in 10 minutes. I even had the notion to throw on a little makeup. Hey, you never know who you might meet in the bottom of the canyon. (I now know the answer to that and the next time I hike it, I will be skipping this part). We met in Crystal and Scott's room for bagels, pb and bananas. When we were on our way to their room, we looked at the cars....there was frost....seriously. It was cold.
We got in the car and drove to the South Rim. It was pitch black. I had a little mag light that saved me from walking over the edge. I hugged John one last time (mostly for warmth) and I realized that this could be the last time I hug him.....so I did it again. The whole time I am walking up to the entrance of the canyon I kept mentally willing myself to turn around. Not to do it. What a failure I would have felt like. We started on the journey down to the bottom. It is a hard packed path that we are walking on. Our flashlights are guiding us. Again, there are no street lamps. It is pitch black except what the moon light is kicking out. I forgot until this point that I am afraid of heights. Not a good place to be.
We are hiking down the canyon when I want to look up, over, all around and take it all in. I have Crystal's husband stop so I can hold his arm so I can do this. Even holding on, I still had this fear rushing through me. I am curious what we walked through but thankful that I didn't see it.
We reached the first potty stop. It was starting to get light out. I, being not able to use a porta potty, skip this and take in the scenery. We are chit chatting away but I am mostly taking it all in.
We share the trail with mules (which I learned are a cross between a female horse and a boy donkey and they are sterile) and they like to poo and pee whereever they are. We were trying to beat them to the bridge but we didn't. When they passed us, this one mule let out the biggest anal flapping fart that I swear I didn't need to hear. Maybe a little less fiber and a little more beano for that one. We ended up running over the bridge so that we wouldn't get stuck behind them (for obvious reasons). To quote one of the walkers "that isn't the first time I have had a bunch of asses on my ass" (that wasn't me mom, I wouldn't use that kind of language.
We reach the stopping point of Phantom Ranch. As we were walking up to it, we saw three bambi eating on the side of the path. The thought of how to get on one to take my back up had crossed my mind. Not seeing Mom made me nervous though. Getting back to the Ranch...you can hike down here and rent cabins and have meals prepared and shop for shirts, water bottles, etc. Kinda fun. I bought a shirt that you can only get down there. I have yet to wear it since they package it so tight and I refuse to get out my iron....
We snack here on food that we have carried in. Power bars, trail mix, fruit....whatever. This is were I try to force any pee that may be in me (not a lot) since I am not a good squatter. I have filled my water bottle up again (meaning that I drank about 2L of water.
After Phantom Ranch we are told that it is a gradual incline. I am not sure what "gradual incline" means to some people but this wasn't as gradual as I had expected. I do have to say, this part of the walk was beautiful! It was next to a brook and the sounds were gorgeous. The Fat woman who has emphyzema wasn't yet on my back so I could hear the water. The trees were beautiful and green.
We reach a house. I am told that it is a park ranger who lives down in the canyon with his wife and two kids. I have a lot of issues (that we talk about in great lengths) about this. I am pretty sure there is no Charter Communication lines down there...could you imagine a play date? Hey kids, go out and ride your bike! hahaha
We filled our water bottles one last time and this (I think) marks the part where we are starting to walk up. The details from here on out are a little cloudy as I was starting to feel every emotion on the planet. We started this journey at 5am and it is about 1pm now. At one point, the couple in front of us found a rattlesnake in the path (dumba$$...he has the whole damn canyon and he has to lay on the trail!). We had to go down the hill a little and then go around. I was ok because I was getting pi$$ed and about to go have a new handbag or belt. It was time to get moving.
Anyway. We start out journey out and the girl I was with (god love her) put up with a lot. If you have google earth, look it up. North Rim Grand Canyon. You are basically walking up zig zag the side of the canyon. John will spew out the numbers for you about mile descent blah blah....I will just tell you friggin steep. We met up with a couple of the drivers and that was good. It meant that it was almost over. Only 1.7 miles left.
I know what you are thinking....1.7 miles....that's it? I know you can run that in about 15 minutes! You must have sprinted out! I am here to tell you that I whined like a baby and mentally gave up those last 1.7 miles. If it weren't so damn sandy I would have crawled like a friggin baby. I wasn't physically hurting (yet) but I was done. I didn't want to be there anymore and I wanted to see John. I heard that he had come down into the canyon to walk up with me but he was hurting too much. That is what I get for marrying an old dude.
I stopped many times on the 1.7 miles but eventually I made it out. If I knew how to get into John's pictures I would post that here. The look of relief is not so sublte on my face. I am so proud that I accomplished that....right now I am looking forward to next year....we will see...
We spent the night in this awesome little cabin that we shared with Crystal and Scott. We got the Bunkabeds. I slept on the sofa. :-)
The next morning my calves were screaming at me. I didn't hurt that much when I got walking....it was just when I stopped and started again. John and I did go for a 2 mile hike the next day. I think that saved me from really hurting. We met some very nice people (NE Patriots Vince Wilfork's Father in Law) and had a great time.
It has been a week since the canyon trip and I laugh but I think I am going through a little depression. I need another mission to focus on....maybe hiking Everest?
Friday, October 16, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment