Wednesday, July 15, 2009

I don't get her...

So I decided to go get my nails done last night in preparation for me to start my new job....get ticked that I have nails....and then rip them off painfully one by one. It is a strange cycle that I know I do, John knows that I do it and yet, we both let me get the nails.

I drive around looking for the place that speaks English but I end up going to the only salon that is open....N'Joy.....since I don't plan anything, it is 7pm by the time I go out...

I get Priscella. She speaks great English but is very not happy for whatever reason. She later on (after I half heartedly try talking to her)tells me that they lost someone close to her. She didn't elaborate and I didn't ask. She tells me about her kids and how they hate each other.....how she isn't married after 10 years...how she hates the heat.....loves the job since it is so close to her house....

Then....she says casually "My husband died a couple weeks ago". Seriously, even I was stunned and not sure how to follow that up. I tell her sorry and that time will heal and other Hallmark lines....then I say "was it sudden?" To which she looks up at me with this mean look and says "I don't want to talk about it"....uh....I didn't bring it up...so then she continues to say how hard it is (but remind you, she doesn't want to talk about it).

So she starts cleaning up and tells me to wait here while my nails dry....and then when I notice she hasn't come back, I see her getting a pedicure.

Yeah, I am not sure I N'Joy-ed that salon.

No comments: