So I have been a little slower at unpacking today. I mean, I have my bed, my toothbrush and 15 boxes of books that need reading, what else is there in life?
When I got married almost 12 years ago, I took my grandma's bedroom set. It was white and wonderful and totally nothing I would have picked myself. When we moved to MA, the packers cracked the one mirror and I never got it replaced because "I wanted the mirror that my grandma looked at herself". Lame. I know but it is what I wanted.
When I moved, John asked what I wanted to do with it. I had been toying around with *gasp* replacing it but just never found anything that meant that much to me. I figured with this move, I would start anew. Get something that I could leave to my kids/grandkids etc. I found a woman who was down on her luck and needed "anything". She had nothing. So I thought this was where the dresser would come full circle and would fulfill the rest of this life with this woman who said "what? this is from 1987? I would never have guessed....it is *SO* gorgeous". Now, for my family/friends that read this you should know....about 1995, it started to yellow. I don't know if it was the MA sun but it was yellow....on the drawers....not the top.... gorgeous wouldn't be the word that I would use. That being said, I have never found a dresser with deep enough drawers like Grandmas and that was part of the reason that I never replaced it. That schiznazz was SOLID!
So without our dressers, we have no where to put our clothes. Thankfully, I have enough cloth baskets for our underwear, bras (just mine..), and socks. They are neatly lined up around my bay window as GHETTO as can be. It works. For now. Our pants (which I just found) are neatly folded on the shelf in the super long closet. I put my things right up near the front on the left hand side and threw John's down past the midway point. There are two reasons for this.
1- when I was putting them away, he found it necessary to leave the house and go pick up my check book at the store that was 20 minutes away....and was gone for 2 hours. 2 HOURS! Serious? So that leads me to reason two.
2- the dude works at a desk all day long with no exercise in the day except to get from car to desk and back again. I am doing it for his health....more for this reason than for #1....honest....I swear...
I am off to find my razor. I think it is time since I can braid my leg hair. That level of warmth is good when I lived back east but when I wear shorts in Jan here, it isn't very attractive.
Sunday, January 11, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment