Or maybe Jimmy Stewart....
In all my culinary excitement, I went out last night and bought another cookbook. There is something about laying in bed reading a cookbook. (doesn't everyone read them in bed?) Anyway, I made this amazing AMAZING salsa tonight that no one but John and I ate...which is just fine with me.
So I wanted to share my recipe with you so that you could read this post in bed and hopefully make it tomorrow. Since I am just too lazy to get up and FAR lazier to actually measure ingredients, I will tell you that it is about a cup per fruit and a cup per veggie
Cantaloupe (I used half and saved the other half for breakfast)
Mango (used the whole thing because I couldn't be bothered to wrap this up too)
Strawberries (just enough so I could have some tomorrow)
Cucumber - seeded (although I usually don't take the extra step to dirty a spoon, I did tonight and I used half because Madison got to the other half
Small red onion - (I would recommend if it makes you cry on slicing, just use 1/4 as 1/2 of the onion was too much)
Green pepper - (I used all but what Madison ate)
Fresh Mint - (picked until I got tired of picking)
Basil - (went by memory at the grocery store and forgot to pick this up
1 T honey
Juice of one small lime
I put every ingredient into my food processor and pulsed the machine until it was chunky but not pureed....mxed it into a bowl....threw it in the fridge for an hour.....served it over rice and chicken but am thinking about using white fish the next time....
Happy Cooking!
Saturday, November 8, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment