Sunday, August 31, 2008

God rested on Sunday....we didn't

We woke up today pretty confident that it was going to be an easy day. We thought that because we were up until super late last night (well, I was somewhat awake when I would hear a commercial). Let me explain why I was in my half comatose state:

Yesterday I woke up at 6:30 am (before the alarm....my body cheated me out of sleep). I made my family breakfast when they awoke and then it was time to get busy. John and I fought for most of the morning and then we had an A-HA moment where we realized that if we work *together*, things go easier and get done faster.

We got a lot of little stupid annoying jobs crossed off the list and then Ant and I made a run to the hardware store for some glass. I still have the mommy power because I tickled him so hard that I almost made him pee his pants (YES!). After lunch, I started to replace a piece of glass in our garage door that has been busted since before Madison was born. I say just started because I was micro-managed because "here, let me help you" even though I didn't need the help. So...after *that* was done, I decided I would paint the door. John was painting heating registers. Then we both painted the railings. You know, it never bothered me that they were just a little rusted. Why should it bother anyone else?

Then at 8pm, John and I sit and I start watching taped Designed to Sell episodes cause I am a sponge right now....I can do anything....when John gets an email. *ding* someone wants our desk. We both look at each other and say "let's do it". So we emptied the desk off and waited for the people to show up. The woman said "my boy told me to go get out of my nightgown and let's go get that desk". Oh they were a sight to see. I would post their picture but I buried my camera under the contents of the desk. We watched her 17 and 19 year old pick up our "very heavy desk" like it was a feather. SO.....now our kitchen table has finally made its way into the "formal" dining area. It has been a long time coming.

We ate our first breakfast at our bistro set that is in our kitchen. I finally went grocery shopping and have food in the house (yippee!!), and went to the Goodwill....to shop....for art. I thought it was a long shot but believe it or not, I got 5 pieces of "art" for $17. Since de-Montesing our living room, there is nothing on the walls. I am tired of hearing my echo! I figure I can turn it back in and get the tax write off of at least $100 a picture ;-).

The rest of the railings are done today and the garage door is finished. We moved more stuff around and then cleaned the kitchen floor (which if you know, is a job and a half). I finally got to take a bath in my new white tub. It was so nice to actually see all the filth and dirt falling off me. John and I were measuring whos leg hair was longer last night so I felt it was finally time to shave. That and I am sick of wearing pants when it is 85 outside. So now, my white tub is salt and pepper color....maybe I will just leave it like that so that the new people know the suffering and self negelect that happened....all so they would be able to "move right in" without having to do a damn thing....

No comments: